10 Stitch Blanket

I’m a self-confessed knitting addict. But don’t let that lure you into thinking that I turn hanks of beautiful yarn into useful, intricate things like cardigans, angel wing shawls, lightweight blouses. So far all I have knitted is scarves, scarves and more scarves. I had begun a baby blanket once but I stopped that when it was about 20 cms long and it now lies abandoned in some dusty corner of my room.

Most of my family & friends (with the exception of one) do not understand why I enjoy knitting. In fact they don’t even consider it a practical hobby since in my part of the world we have to put up with scorching heat nearly 9 months out of 12. And it is not particularly cold in the 3 months that the sun takes a bit of a break. But I knit since I like the repetitiveness of it. It also allows me to watch movies and serials the way I like to, which involves me looking at the screen only occasionally. The husband hates watching television with me, so does the rest of the world.

Anyhow, back to the purpose of this post. I have begun a simple but ambitious knitting project called the 10 Stitch Blanket. It’s a wonderful way to use up any left over yarn that you may have lying about the house. I have a huge bagful of assorted yarn, some mine and some donated generously by a friend and fellow knitter when she moved out of the  country. This pattern,  is available for free on ravelry. Here is the link to it.

The pattern given by Frankie is very detailed. But for those of you who, like me,  are still learning the ropes, there is a great video tutorial by Stacie of VeryPink.com which guides you through the tricky bits in the beginning.

Here is to hoping I finish this blanket sometime this year!

About inglen00k

I love dogs, books and knitting scarves (that's the only thing I know how to knit!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to 10 Stitch Blanket

  1. Tess Joss says:

    Aww. I like this post very much because a generous friend has been mentioned in it 😛 Also, I hate watching television with you. Also, I hope you finish this project. Also, I hope you keep updating the blog. Miss you 😦

Leave a comment